## The Equity Task Force voted to recommend to the Select Board the establishment of a Diversity, Equity & inclusion Committee at its meeting October 25, 2021.

## Establish a Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee (DEI Committee)

**Mission/Scope:** To work in conjunction with the Chief Diversity Officer (CDO) in supporting the CDO's functions. The Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee may collaborate with the CDO in such projects as: (1) building strong community relations and outreach (2) creating an avenue for all persons who come into contact with the Town to report any violations of civil rights principles (3) review Town by-laws, charter, articles, policies that contribute to an inequitable outcome and to provide recommendations to the Select Board.

The Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee makes reports and recommendations to the Select Board.

**Composition:** The Select Board shall appoint a diverse and inclusive group of seven to nine members for the Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee who shall be qualified for such appointment by virtue of their interest, demonstrated relevant and significant knowledge, life experience or training. The Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee is to have at least 75% representation of communities that are historically marginalized populations. Members of the Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee may be identified by the Chief Diversity Officer and appointed by the Select Board. Members shall not include sitting members of the Select Board, School Committee, Planning Board, or Finance Committee.

The Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee may provide the Select Board with a recommendation and rationale to modify its structure or charge at any time.

The suggested process for seeking members may include but are not limited to: regular announcement process, social media, direct emails to community organizations, Pegasus.

**Term:** The terms of the first members are to end on June 30, 2023. Reappointments and future terms to last 3 years and be appointed on a staggered schedule.

Susan G. Salamoff, Chair, Karen Adelman-Foster, Dorothy Blondiet, Guimel DeCarvalho, Nora Elbasha, James Errickson, Eric Nguyen, Dr. Anna Nolin, Dr. Tina Opie, Dr. Marilyn Park.